Men's golf

Six Red Raiders Earn Postseason Honors

Six Red Raiders earned postseason honors as announced by the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) office earlier today. 

Three players, Justin Kraft, Evan Schuler and Austin Reitz, were named first team all-conference. Kraft was the top Red Raider finisher at the GPAC Championship last week, tying for fifth place with a 72-hole score of 307 (+23). Kraft leads the Red Raiders with a 74.6 scoring average this season, winning two events and placing in the top 10 four times. He earns the postseason honor for the third straight year.

Schuler tied for seventh at the GPAC Championship (309, +25) and ranked second on the team with a 74.9 scoring average. Schuler, who takes home the GPAC honor for the second time, recorded three top five finishes and five in the top 10. 

Reitz was the third Red Raider golfer to finish in the top 10 at conference, tying for 10th place overall with a 312 (+28). The sophomore posted a scoring average of 76.4 and claimed medalist honors in one meet. Reitz had four top 10 finishes. 

Two Red Raiders, Ryan Christy and Colton Kooima, received honorable mention honors. Christy recorded a scoring average of 77.1 and had one top 10 finish this season. Christy takes home the postseason honor for the second time. Playing just the spring season, Kooima played a key role in the Red Raiders GPAC Championship run, carding a 75.3 scoring average, third lowest on the team. He had one top 10 finish and is a three-time all-conference selection. 

Head Coach Aaron Aberson earned GPAC Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time in the last six seasons. Aberson guided the Red Raiders to their third straight and fifth GPAC title over the last six seasons. 

Northwestern will play in the NAIA Men's Golf National Championship next week at the TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill. 

GPAC Release | PDF

Ryan Christy

Senior from Orange City, Iowa

Justin Kraft

Junior from Lake View, Iowa

Evan Schuler

Junior from Atlantic, Iowa

Austin Reitz

Sophomore from Onawa, Iowa

Colton Kooima

Junior from Sioux Falls, S.D.